|Worthless Check Under $150|
“knowing at the time of the drawing, making, uttering, issuing, or delivering such check or draft, or at the time of using such debit card, that the maker or drawer thereof has not sufficient funds on deposit”
Worthless Check Under $150
If you have been charged with WOCK1000 WORTHLESS CHECK you can call a Tampa Worthless Check Defense Attorney at 813-222-2220.
Form Code: WOCK1000
Florida Statute: 832.05.2
Level: Misd (Misdemeanor)
Description: WORTHLESS CHECK
WOCK1000 WORTHLESS CHECK is often charged in Hillsborough County, Florida
Title XLVI CRIMES
Chapter 832 VIOLATIONS INVOLVING CHECKS AND DRAFTS
832.05 Giving worthless checks, drafts, and debit card orders; penalty; duty of drawee; evidence; costs; complaint form.
(2) WORTHLESS CHECKS, DRAFTS, OR DEBIT CARD ORDERS; PENALTY.—
(a) It is unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to draw, make, utter, issue, or deliver to another any check, draft, or other written order on any bank or depository, or to use a debit card, for the payment of money or its equivalent, knowing at the time of the drawing, making, uttering, issuing, or delivering such check or draft, or at the time of using such debit card, that the maker or drawer thereof has not sufficient funds on deposit in or credit with such bank or depository with which to pay the same on presentation; except that this section does not apply to any check when the payee or holder knows or has been expressly notified prior to the drawing or uttering of the check, or has reason to believe, that the drawer did not have on deposit or to the drawer’s credit with the drawee sufficient funds to ensure payment as aforesaid, nor does this section apply to any postdated check.
(b) A violation of the provisions of this subsection constitutes a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083, unless the check, draft, debit card order, or other written order drawn, made, uttered, issued, or delivered is in the amount of $150, or its equivalent, or more and the payee or a subsequent holder thereof receives something of value therefor. In that event, the violation constitutes a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.